NaNoWriMo

What is NaNoWriMo? It stands for National Novel Writing Month and is a web based community built to inspire and support novelists to complete their goal. A 50,000 word novel, in one month.
I first learned of NaNoWriMo after finishing Erin Morgenstern’s debut novel, The Night Circus. She had participated for a few years, and it resulted in her finished book.
The main reason this appeals to me, is the forced deadline. I will spend forever on one paragraph, trying to perfect it the first time around. I get hung up on wording and phrasing and can’t let my rough draft be just that, a rough draft. I’m hoping the limited timeframe will keep me going forward and pushing on.
This will be my third try at finishing a novel. (Not counting my semi-serious highschool attempts.) I did 4-5 chapters in college about magic gemstones that granted elemental powers. Last year I wrote approximately 15,000 words about a great swordsman refusing to serve his king in war, and had his arm amputated as punishment.
I wanted this one to be in a more modern day, urban setting, but still with some fantasy elements. The story focuses on a teenager who recently lost his mother. His father copes badly, losing his job and drinking more. They move to a poor neighborhood filled with gangs, which the main character becomes involved with. The gangs are pushing a new drug, which the kid also gets involved with. Struggling with addiction will be a theme of the book, as well coping with loss and how people try to comfort themselves.
Have you ever participated in NaNoWriMo in the past, or will you try this year? Share your experience or novel idea in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

      1. Not at all! My novel is a YA about a ghost trapped in limbo and she is forced to realized and deal with her mistakes before moving on to the afterlife. And see doesn’t understand this until she puzzles out her story with another ghost who ends up was her victim in a car accident!

        Like

Leave a Reply

