DAY 6: Favorite Series
6
The Mistborn Series. This one was recommended to me by a friend, shortly after it came out. Intrigued by the cover and his description of the book, I read it and quickly fell in love with the unique magic system and surprisingly in depth characters.

DAY: 7 Character Most Like Me
7
“I never make fun of ladies, Blushweaver,” Lightsong said, picking up his drink again. “Mocking a woman is like drinking too much wine. It may be fun for a short time, but the hangover is hell.”
I had a hard time with this one. I picked Lightsong because, despite being a God himself, he doesn’t really believe in his religion. (I’m agnostic myself) He also tends to be really witty and sarcastic, traits we both share. It’s also used as a cover to hide that he’s actually a really good and caring person.

DAY: 8 I Cried… A Lot
8
-SPOILER- So, yeah this made me cry. Well, misty eyed, because men don’t cry. The main character trains to be a surgeon, following his father’s footsteps. His younger brother gets drafted into the army by their spiteful city overlord, so he abandons his fathers dream and the money his saved for his schooling to join the army with his brother and protect him. He is unable to protect his brother, and he dies. He manages to kill a general with godlike armor, a feat so rare its pretty much considered impossible. The armor and credit is stolen by his captain, who kills his squad, the only witnesses, and then brands him as a slave. After a few failed escape attempts, he gets sold into another army. He is forced to carry siege bridges with fellow slaves. They aren’t allowed any armor, and are basically disposable human shields for the army. At his lowest point, he almost kills himself by throwing himself into a chasm. This character was so well written, and his backstory so tragic and unfair, I couldn’t help but cry when he finds the strength to keep going on. I mean, get teary eyed. Guys don’t cry.

DAY: 9 Favorite Cover
9
I think I became interested in this book just for the cover.
The whole color theme of the book is white and black, with a splash of red.
The shiny rainbow glossy stuff can be the magic swirls.

Day: 10 I wish It Ended Differently
10
This was a really amazing book and I enjoyed every bit of it. I loved how detailed it was without ever being boring or slow. The only exception is the ending. It just seemed anticlimatic, and that it dragged on longer than necessary.

Leave a Reply

